AMERICAN DRIVE, “American Drive,” Rural Rhythm. 12 tracks.

American Drive may be a new name on the bluegrass scene, but its members aren’t.

When legendary banjo master J.D. Crowe decided to retire from the road, his band, The New South, decided to stick together and become American Drive.

Rickey Wasson, Dwight McCall, Matt DeSpain and Kyle Perkins are carrying on the tradition. Justin Jenkins fills the banjo slot on this album, but he’s since been replaced by Josh Hymer in the band.

The first single, “Long Haul Trucking Man,” an uptempo ode to a man addicted to the road, was written by McCall.

“Willow Creek Dam” tells the story of a dam that will soon flood the singer’s home.

“War Is Hell” tells the story of a man who can’t shake the memories of war. They’ve cost him his wife and kids, but not his whiskey.

“Too Late To Settle Down” finds a man wondering if the woman he loves will take him back.

“Cowboys Still Act Like Cowboys” is a countryesque ballad about cowboys and honky tonks.

“Nobody’s Child” is about a boy in an orphanage.

“Resting Place” and “From Where I Stand” are gospel songs.

Good solid bluegrass from a band that learned it from a master.

Can’t find it in stores? Try

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: