THE BOXCARS, “All In,” Mountain Home. 12 tracks.

The Boxcars, then a new group filled with veteran artists, burst on the bluegrass scene in 2010 with a self-titled album that made many critics’ Top 10 lsit.

A year later, the International Bluegrass Music Association named the band instrumental group of the year as well as emerging artists of the year.

Now, The Boxcars are back with “All In,” another strong album of country-flavored bluegrass.

Band members penned seven of the 12 tracks.

Keith Garrett’s “Jeffrey’s Hell” is a ghost story about a man and his son who went hunting for a lost hound and were never seen again.

The new “Old Hollow Tree” and the traditional “Born And Raised In Covington” are good murder ballads.

Ron Stewart’s “Crawford County” tells the story of a man who mistakenly shoots and kills two children he thinks are poaching deer.

“Prison” is an uptempo gospel song.

And there are plenty of songs about heartache — “Alone and Wondering Why,” “Ol’ Lonesome Won’t Leave Me Alone,” “I’ve Lost You,” “I’m Over You, “Still Good At Crying Over You” and “Don’t Fall In Love With A Girl Like That.”

Adam Steffey wrote the album’s only instrumental “That’s What She Said.”

John Bowman and Harold Nixon round out the band.

The Boxcars have a avoided a sophomore slump with another strong album.

Can’t find it in stores? Try

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: